Meet Our Persons of Vision

Person of Vision award

2016 Honoree Bob Buckhorn is saluted by Event Co-Chair, Kevin Bakewell.

Prevent Blindness Florida (now Preserve Vision Florida) presented its first Person of Vision Award in 1979 and has honored over 60 of Florida’s visionary leaders who have made a profound impact on Florida and the Tampa Bay community.

2015 Persons of Vision

2015 Honorees Jeff and Penny Vinik, owners of the Tampa Bay Lightning, are congratulated by Event Co-Chair Kevin Bakewell (left), Senior VP and Chief Public Affairs Officer of AAA – The Auto Club Group.

POV 2014 honorees

Event Chairs Lorna Taylor (CEO of Premier Eye Care) and Jim Davis (former U.S. Representative) congratulate 2014 Honorees Betty Castor (former Florida Commissioner of Education and former USF President) and U.S. Representative Kathy Castor.

HonoreeAffiliation at Time of Award
Mayor Ed AustinCity of Jacksonville
Ted BakerFlorida Rock Industries
Thompson BakerThompson Baker Insurance
George BeanHillsborough County Aviation Authority
Henry H. BeckwithBlue Cross Blue Shield
Ken BurtonManatee County Tax Collector
Mayor Bob BuckhornCity of Tampa
Jack ButcherThe Tampa Tribune
A. R. Pete CarpenterCSX Transportation
The Hon. Betty CastorFormer FL Secretary of Education, Former USF President
Congresswoman Kathy CastorU.S. House of Representatives, Tampa
Congressman Jim DavisU.S. House of Representatives, Tampa
Congresswoman Tillie K. FowlerU.S. House of Representatives, Jacksonville
Senator Pat Collier FrankFlorida Senate
Former Mayor Bill FredericksCity of Orlando
William W. GayW. W. Gay Mechanical Contractor
Mayor Dick Greco
and Dr. Linda McClintock-Greco
City of Tampa
Tampa General Hospital
Senator Mary GrizzleFlorida Senate
Sheriff Walter HeinrichHillsborough County Sheriff’s Office
Max H. HollingsworthWinn-Dixie
Mayor Glenda HoodCity of Orlando
Col. Joseph House (Ret.) and Sue HouseUSAA
Community Volunteer
Senator Toni JenningsFlorida Senate President
Carlton JonesLeadership Florida
Dr. Frances KinneJacksonville University
Brian LambFifth Third Bank
Rep. John LewisFlorida House of Representatives
Judith LisiStraz Center for the Performing Arts
Joseph W. LopanoTampa International Airport
Bill McBride
and Alex Sink
Holland & Knight
NationsBank Florida
Congressman John MicaU.S. House of Representatives, Casselberry
Rudy MichaudMetLife
H. Lee MoffittMoffitt Cancer Center & Research Institute
Frank L. MorsaniPrecision Enterprises, Inc.
Henry MotesE. H. Thompson Restaurant Equipment Company
Harold and Howard O’SteenO’Steen Volvo
Outback Founders
Robert D. Basham
Tim Gannon
Chris T. Sullivan

Outback Steakhouse
Art PepinPepin Distributing
Mayor Wayne PostonCity of Bradenton
Lynwood RobertsDuval County Tax Collector
Hubert RutlandRutland Department Store
Terrell SessumsFlorida House of Representatives Speaker
Dow SherwoodVillage Inn Restaurants
John and Susan SykesSykes Enterprises
Ronald D. TaylorE. W. Nash & Sons
Gilbert E. TurnerGulf Tampa Industries
Representative Daniel WebsterSpeaker, Florida House of Representatives
University Presidents – Hillsborough
Judy Lynn Genshaft, Ph.D.
Gwendolyn W. Stephenson, Ph.D.
Ronald L. Vaughn, Ph.D.
University of South Florida
Hillsborough Community College

The University of Tampa
University Presidents – Sarasota
Dr. Gordon Michalson
Dr. Sarah Pappas
Dr. Laurey Stryker

Larry Thompson, Ph.D.
New College of Florida
Manatee Community College
University of South Florida, Sarasota-Manatee
Ringling School of Art & Design
Jeff and Penny VinikTampa Bay Lightning
Joseph J. ZalupskiTampa Sports Authority


Comments are closed.